Mirror Lake

I have had a few comments regarding an image I posted of Mirror Lakes, and I am shocked to realize I never actually write a post of this amazing place. It is unthinkable.

Milford SoundNow Mirror Lakes is on the Milford Track before you get to Homer Tunnel, part of the Fjord-land National Parks in New Zealand. It is a perfect, still, clear lake that has amazing reflections of the Alps, well once the duckling finally gave up on his bath and left me to my photos. Normally I would not begrudge a duckling and his Mum having a bath, but it was literally freezing and I wanted to take some photos before the lake froze up!I was incredibly lucky, we had had snow for 3 nights in a row and woke to crystal clear, blue skies, no wind, and that clear sunshine you so rarely get, it’s that clear mountain air.

I stood there awestruck for several minutes before I even thought to take my first photo. It was simply breath taking (soon forgot just how cold it was too). I simply stood there taking a few happy snaps, no real thought to it. Finally my artistic, creative side won out and I re assessed and then re shot. Obviously I would have to take lots of images to make one large panorama (which is the top image) this was edited from about 10 different photos in Photoshop. To be honest this was only one quick stop on a whole trip to Milford Sound, but I excitedly anticipated it after finding a few images on the net before we went. I will get around to posting some images of Milford Sound, The Chasm and Cascade Creek soon.

– Julz

4 responses to “Mirror Lake

Leave a Reply

